The Zucchini is in!!

100_1578100_1710

First zucchini of the year was harvested!  Starting off in my greenhouse this spring, I’ve got a lovely light green fruit for tonight’s dinner.  Recommended by a colleague, I bought the seeds from Seeds of Italy, choosing an organic variety from the Genoa section of Italy.  It sliced so easily, with very little seeds (even though I let it get a little too big).

Compliments of  a recent Facebook posting, I thought I’d try out the Zucchini Parmesan Crisps:

  • Zuchini, sliced into 1/4 inch slices
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • Kosher salt (a pinch or so)
  • Pepper (sprinkled for flavor)

100_1712

Mix the breadcrumbs, cheese, salt, and pepper in a bowl.

Dip the slices of zucchini into the olive oil (or paint on with a brush) and then dip each slice into the crumb mixture.

100_1711

Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for about 25 minutes at 400 degrees, until crispy.

100_1720100_1721

I paired them with a Panko-coated cod, seasoned with organic garlic salt and baked with a touch of organic butter.

Absolutely delicious!

One thought on “The Zucchini is in!!

  1. Wonderful summer dish, my honey made the perfect light and airy Zucchini dish that I have had in a long time.
    She once again shows me how local fruits and vegetables taste so much better than store bought, as well as not only do you grow it, but you can eat it after watching for weeks as it grows.

Leave a Reply

